Can anyone suggest several good, in depth, build logs for a RV-8? I'm looking for journals with good explanations and pictures... Feel free to recommend your own as well. :)

Shive,

What you will quickly find is what Nigel was pointing out, the airplanes are all very similar in construction.

Any of the very excellent builder websites out there will be helpful.

One word of caution, some of the web sites you will look at have errors or the builders did things that had to be fixed later on. Some may or may not have gone back and noted those issues in their web sites next to where they made a particular recommendation.

Best of luck to both of you with your builds!

Old School

Yeah I'm old but I have a Master of Science in Computer Science so I'm not completely scared of computers. In my humble opinion there is nothing like buying a bond journal entering your start time at the beginning of each work session and what you intend to do then your stop time and what you actually did and the number of photos you took followed by your signature and a line across the page below it. Keep a separate album (physical - off line - not requiring a computer to look at the photos) record the date of each photo on the back. The way I go back into my records to see how I did something or evaluate the possibility of a modification is to go to the album first find the related work in the photo record look at the date on the back and refer to the log for a description of the work. In the left margin of the log (journal) I enter the work date, the quantity of photos take and cumulative hours worked. Years later (13 now for me) long after power fails, computers crash, computers are replaced, software changes, recording media evolves to a new better form all I have to do is go to my bookshelf pull out the log and album for whatever purpose I have at the moment. It is an investment in a treasured memory as well as a functional record. My log is now two volumes and the photo album is 10" thi