SimonW

I'm New Here
Hello All,
I'm an RV-7 builder down here in Sydney Australia. I'm currently working on the empennage and have decided to go with the Quick Build wings and fuselage.

My question - once the QB wings and fuselage arrive roughly how many hours are required to get to the stage where I need to have the finishing kit on hand?

To give you some background I'm trying to decide whether to ship the QB wings/QB fuselage and Finishing Kit all in one go or just the QB wings/QB fuselage and delay the purchase of the Finishing Kit until I really need it. This is in an attempt to spread out the costs a bit. I'm a sloooooow builder - so while 200 hours may seem like a blink of an eye to some folk that probably translates into 12 months for me.

Thanks in Advance (and apologies if this question has already been answered and I'm just too dumb to find the right search keywords). :rolleyes:

Cheers,

Simon Williams
RV-7
Sydney, Australia.

QB times

Good Morning Simon
I got my emp kit in late Dec, just before Christmas and my qb wings and fues in late Jan. I put roughly 10-15 hrs a week in, often with a helper. I am now finished until the finish kit arrives and I get some more supplies.(big plans for oshkosh) Now, that does not mean I am done, but..no sense painting the interior, until the canopy is finished, no sense rivetting down floors until wiring runs are done, no sense finishing glass tips on wings till lighting package is in, no sense closing wings till auto pilot is installed. So, what i am saying is there are hundreds and hundreds or hours of work, but having all the stuff sitting there is a huge help. You will keep busy for a while, but get to the point that you have tons of stuff 80% done and need the master plan and all the parts before you can start "finishing anything"
Just my 2 cents, new at all this too. Good luck.

Hi Simon,