rickmellor

Well Known Member
I feel like a total dork for this one. I was doing final assembly on the aileron bell crank in my 7A QB wing and I managed to twist the spar attach bolt off in the hole. It turns out that my fancy new inch pounds torque wrench doesn't work. :mad: I had it set to 20 inch lbs and I snapped the bolt off without even thinking about it (blindly trusting the tool). Now I've gotta figure out how to recover without destroying the platenut. The leading edge skin is on so I can't reach it to replace it.

Do you guys have any tips for this? I've got a tap set on the way from Avery but I've never done this before and this is a bad place to be learning.

-Rick
RV7A QB (emp done, working on the wings)

broken bolt

I hope you get some better answers, but here's what I'd do. Drill a small hole in the center of the bolt, and get after it with an ez-out.

Avery sells them, and I'll bet you can get them at your local hardware store.

http://www.averytools.com/p-427-alden-x-out-damaged-screw-remover.aspx

427.jpg

If I understand you correctly, you were installing the aileron bellcrank bracket in the wing, and broke one of the attach bolts. If so, the broken bolt is threaded into a nut plate that is riveted to the tie-down bar, and the tie-down bar is bolted to the font side of the spar. With the fuel tank removed, you have easy access to the tie-down bar, so you can remove it and replace the nut palte.

Yes, this is exactly the problem. It doesn't look like the x-outs will work because the bolt head twisted off. However, I'm going to pick up a set of these and see if it'll work. They'll come in handy anyway, I'm sure.

I hadn't thought about getting at it with the tank off. I haven't done anything with the tank yet so it didn't even occur to me. Thanks for the suggestion, that'll work beautifully and I won't have to worry about the integrity of the fix.

-Rick
RV7A QB (emp done, working on the wings)

How many foot pounds?