Rosie

Well Known Member
I have a buddy (who does not own a computer) and he flies a 150hp RV-3. He has an old no-name wood prop and would like to replace it. Can somebody out there please recommend a prop that would work for SPEED (he's not worried about climb). Thank you very much, Rosie

Goin' out on a limb here, but I seem to recall Catto. It is a composite job, as I recall.

Does this sound right? Anything better?

:confused: CJ

Rosie,
I've got some experience with wood props for RVs. The optimum prop depends somewhat on the altitude. The sensenich wood prop works great at altitude because of it's wide blade planform, but it does load the engine at the lower altitudes where the air is thick. I ran a Sensenich wood on my -6 for several years. It performed wonderfully above 10,000' but at 640' MSL I could only static 2050 rpm. For lower altitudes a narrow blade planform seems to work better. I eventually went with the Catto 3-blade. Now I static just over 2300. My takeoff roll is 17% shorter and my cruise is the same (201 mph tas at 75%). Of course this is a composite prop and the cost and lead time is greater than wood.
Hope this helps.
Mel...DAR

Thanks Captain John and Mel. The plane is based at Rosamond, elevation ~2400 ft for anyone else who'd like to put in their $0.02. Rosie

Check with Sterba