Anthony W

I'm New Here
Hello, this is my first time posting. I am sure fuel consumption has been discussed plenty, but I have not found anything on cost per distance. I am interested in puchasing an RV-4. I would like to know what the highest MPG is for an O-320 equipped RV-4. From what I understand, most fuel consumption discussion is based on GPH which is referenced to percent horsepower. I have found a few alt/%hp examples, but I have not been able to find any fuel consumption performance curves in any POH's available online. Just the O-320 manual, which only gives GPH for HP. I realize the highest MPG may be at a very low speed, maybe as low as 110kts. I know that not many pilots build RV-4's to fly around at the best efficiency. But I am still curious, what is the best combination of power setting, altitude, etc... that will produce the highest MPG for the average RV-4?

Last time I attempted to get good fuel mileage I managed about 27 MPG in mine. I have an electronic ignition and flew high over a 800 NM round trip to Sun-n-fun.

I have no idea of the % of power but I was at 9500 to 11500 and running about 2400 RPM. This was not WOT for me but not far from it. I'm usually in a hurry to get there but this time there was weather over KLAL I was waiting to move out.

I get about 27 mpg at 2300 rpm low altitude. Two mags and a carb. Stock RV-4 O-320. MT fixed pitch prop. 157-163 mph

Last edited:
Some basics on mpg

Your best mpg in a no-wind case is usually at your speed for best L/D. For the -6A that's 106 mph. You can determine yours with the methods that you can find in the spreadsheets on the page linked in my signature. It is NOT the same as your best power-off glide. When there is a wind you would have to change a little, depending on the wind velocity as a percent of your best L/D speed. For that, also on the page linked below, you will find: Analysis of glide in a wind. The same principles apply for level flight.