rockwoodrv9

Well Known Member
Patron
I would like to fly into Air Venture this year but as a 350 hour pilot, I do not want to be in a cluster **** for my arrival. I dont care what day I come in or time - just a low traffic day. I would love to be there for the Stein dinner on the 25th, but that is not necessary. I can only spend two nights so that limits me also. Maybe Im better landing somewhere else and taking a shuttle.

Historically, what are the best days and times to get in without the heavy traffic? Thanks.

Early is definitely better, but people know that trick already. There will be traffic circling waiting to come into the airport at 6am! Having a second person that can help look for other planes is nice. If they are a pilot they can help with workload. Read the approach procedures carefully and have it memorized. if you aren't familiar with the area get out Google Maps and see what things look like. Pilots can easily get confused when they see a line of airplanes and follow the wrong routes. They separate ultralights, airshow planes, etc. Have the approach procedures memorized so you can focus on flying and enjoying the experience.