Blastr42

I'm interested in being able to do all my own work on my aircraft, including the annual condition inspection (I was not the original builder). How hard is it to become an A&P? It seems like half the people in aviation are A&Ps! I am a full time engineer and have thought about becoming a light sport mechanic, but I would rather go to the higher rating if that is a "not insane" idea. What are the ways to become an A&P? What is the least time intensive? Am I just screwed in my desire?

Thanks a bunch,
Jeff

Lots of time involved. Either 1900+hours at a 147 school or 3 years in an apprentance type position. You might want to consider the advantages of doing the maintenance yourself, and having an A&P do you condition inspections. Most people in experimental aviation would argue that you can do all you own maintenance on the RV, and just need the condition inspection done by an A&P. Others might argue that you should at least have an A&P inspect and sign off major work done. I fall into the later category, but I'm biased since I am an A&P. Either way you can do the majority of the work. Just make sure either way it gets logged!

school

went to a two year school 40hrs a week. some unrealted stuff in there such as basic acedemics.at night would have taken 4 years.

Chiming in...

No A&P required to do normal maintenance work on an experimental. See 14 CFR 43.1 (b), "This part does not apply to any aircraft for which an experimental airworthiness certificate has been issued, unless a different kind of airworthiness certificate had previously been issued for that aircraft."

Now, you start tearing into a major alteration without an A&P or Repairman certificate, and you will probably have a problem with the FSDO when you try to get your operating limitations worked out. And of course, if you don't know what you're doing, don't do it!