tonyjohnson

Well Known Member
I am building an 8A with a superior IO 360 and a catto 3 blade prop. I had intended to put the battery on the firewall until I heard the opinion, almost universal including guru Jay Pratt, that it should go in the rear.

Van's plans for the aft battery show it placed almost as far as it can go in the rear. It seems possible, unless I am missing something, that the aft battery can be mounted any place in a range of about 20 inches within the rear area. If that is true, it seems a great opportunity to adjust the CG a bit by placing the hunk of weight that is the battery at an optimum point along that range to have the most positive effect on the CG.

I am a lawyer who flunked math twice in high school, and not smart enough to figure out where that would be. Do any of you guys have any ideas, thoughts or observations that would help me?

Thanks,

Tony Johnson
RV8A "Badboy" N12TJ res
Orlando

Fine Tuning CG

While I don't have my -8 flying yet, so I don't have any first-hand experience, it's my opinion that you don't (and likely won't) have enough concrete info on how your ship is goign to turn out, with all the variables of equipment placement, to do much in the way of fine-tuning your CG beyond the gross placement of the battery where Van's shows it. I agree 100% in the aft battery placement, based on everything I've been told, but beyond that, I'd say put it where Van's shows, and fine tune with other stuff. In order to move it much forward, you'd have to modify the aft baggage compartment, and aft would be complicated with the elevator bellcrank and pushrod.

I remember back when I was in school, learning how to design airplanes, it was apparent who the students were that had worked on planes, and who hadn't. Those that hadn't put much more faith in analysyis than those of us who knew what actually went into the construction process! There is a lot you don't know when you're at the drawing board....

Paul Dye