jferraro17

Opulence, I has it...
I've come to the point where I need to make a fore/aft decision on the battery. I've searched multiple ways in these forums. I've also played with a few cg calculators...unfortunately, I have very little GA experience, and even less dealing with CG scenarios in a light airlplane. So the call goes out to trusty 'ol VAF ...

-8A
0-360/180HP
Catto 3 Blade
Glass panel
230# pilot

I'm concerned about aft CG scenarios...wife (135#, don't tell her I posted that) in back for aerobatics, or loaded up for x-country and burning fuel off. However, I *think* most flying will be solo, local aero type stuff.

Which location gives me the best options? Anyone with that exact setup?

Thanks to the knowledge pool, as always!

Joe

no worries

our planes are very similar. am using 180hp O360, single dynon, 220 pounds of nordic dynamite (me), metal prop, PC680 on the firewall. doing the math reveals no drama. have noticed that the pitch response is quite different with varying CG.

Joe,

Pilot weight isn't goiign to make much difference. Other than that, I have the same engine as you do, but the heavier Hartzell Prop. At any rate - aft mounted battery, and I've had 280 pounders in the back - not doing Acro of course!

The truth is, the odyssey battery is pretty light - I like mine in the back, and would do it again - keeps a clean firewall, and the CG aft.

Paul

CG

Joe,

Pilot weight isn't goiign to make much difference. Other than that, I have the same engine as you do, but the heavier Hartzell Prop. At any rate - aft mounted battery, and I've had 280 pounders in the back - not doing Acro of course!

The truth is, the odyssey battery is pretty light - I like mine in the back, and would do it again - keeps a clean firewall, and the CG aft.

Paul

Joe: