erich weaver

Well Known Member
Patron
I have no experience using paint spray guns, but thought I would give it a try applying primer on my fiberglass parts after tediously filling pin holes and sanding for what seems like forever. I followed the directions that came with the spray gun, which is a siphon cup type unit that I hooked up to my cheapo Craftsman air compressor. I practiced by spraying water on the hangar wall until I thought I had the hang of it, then disassembled the gun and dried it out. The next morning I mixed up the two-part primer (Eurofill from Evercoat) and gave it a shot.

Everything went great at first. I was amazed how smooth the first coat went on my wheel pants and I actually started having thoughts that I could eventually paint my own plane. But somewhere in the middle of my second coat things went to heck - not smooth at all. It looked like I had sprayed the dust from a pencil eraser all over. I stopped, dissassembled the gun and cleaned it all out. Started again on some new parts and got the same result - worked great for awhile and then got the eraser dust affect.

Nothing too tramatic here because the primer sands down really easily and nicely, but I dont want to do more until I understand whats going on. My guess is something pretty simple, and I dont think its the primer product - the part I got right was really nice.

Whats the deal?

thanks

Erich

So many things could be going on, but it sounds to me as if your primer is going off. How old is the mix you're using? Or is there water getting into the spray?

Erich,

Since I seem to so much help to you on other things, why not try here as well. ;)

I don't know if it will be of value, but I have a few links to spray gun set-up info on my Tips & Resources page. Look at the Priming & Painting section.

Good luck! BTW... no more info on our coversation of the other day - sorry.

1. Clogged cup vent.
2. Too small gun nozzle & heavy primer build up.