ToadMan8

Hello all! I just received my tools yesterday, so I set about on Van's practice kit to learn how to use them. Prior to yesterday, I've had no experience with these tools or this process, so I'm looking for some basic feedback / answers, if you would be so kind.

1. How much to shave off the rubber thing around the swivel flush rivet set
  2. Why my rivets, especially flush rivets, tend to stand out on the head end (see above?)
  3. How much to countersink underlying pieces (like the angle iron in this case) when putting dimpled sheet metal over it
  4. How much self-etching primer should be used? A mist? An opaque coat? I get the impression this was a bit heavy.

Here's a link to pictures of what we did, and some of our mistakes - http://rvhaslanded.blogspot.com/

Thank you for your help!!

[*]How much to shave off the rubber thing around the swivel flush rivet set
Don't shave any off.
[*]Why my rivets, especially flush rivets, tend to stand out on the head end (see above?)
Technique? Were you back riveting these?
[*]How much to countersink underlying pieces (like the angle iron in this case) when putting dimpled sheet metal over it
Use a dimpled piece of scrap as a guide. Countersink so that the scap piece sits flat.

Many of the shop heads in the last picture look over set.

Hello all! I just received my tools yesterday, so I set about on Van's practice kit to learn how to use them. Prior to yesterday, I've had no experience with these tools or this process, so I'm looking for some basic feedback / answers, if you would be so kind.
  1. How much to shave off the rubber thing around the swivel flush rivet set
  2. Why my rivets, especially flush rivets, tend to stand out on the head end (see above?)
  3. How much to countersink underlying pieces (like the angle iron in this case) when putting dimpled sheet metal over it
  4. How much self-etching primer should be used? A mist? An opaque coat? I get the impression this was a bit heavy.