Capflyer

Well Known Member
Question for the avionics techs out there.

Seems a problem from last summer has re-appeared this summer. When it gets hot out my GTX-327 transponder stops transmitting my squawk & altitude. This is a huge problem for me since I fly from an airport in the DC SFRA. Last week I had trouble getting back in to fly home.

Installing an avionics fan is a little overkill but I can easily install a blast tube off of my cabin vent line. The question is, where should I end it to blow the cooling air on the transponder. I'm guessing on the back where it looks like the tray back plate is a huge heat sink but just want to be sure.

I'm no expert but the install manual says forced air would be best if aimed at the rear heat sink.

Summer heat vs avionics

On my 6A, the Dynon has gotten so hot it wouldn't start up until airborne. That was when it was canopy closed on a 100 degree day. I have a computer fan blowing under the panel.

The RV-10 Garmin 530 would not start up on the ramp in Little Rock this week. Plane on the ramp, doors closed. Passing 3000', it started. Same computer fan under the panel.

Garmin 696 has sputtered a time or two also.

Plan: going to install a real avionics fan when 1" ducts to each device.

It's hot!

It's a good time to go over the care and ongoing maintenance of these units so that you can maximize
the flight hours and reliability of your GNS series product.
First and most importantly for keeping the unit looking good, make sure that you only clean the
display with non-ammonia based cleaners or a very mild detergent using a clean, lightly
moisturized cotton or micro-fiber cloth. There are anti-reflective coatings on the display that will
easily display finger oils and other debris. These coatings can come off if the display is not
cleaned properly, reducing the viewability of the unit.

Secondly, be sure that you have good forced-air cooling. While the GNS 530/430 series units