prkaye

Well Known Member
Is it ok to transport and store AVGAS in those regular red plastic gas cans you get at the hardware store?

Ahh come on Mel, I started to say something clever but knowing there is a fine line between clever and stupid I will refrain.:D
and I'm talking about stupid on my part.

No problem - just don't spill any and get caught by the highway patrol.

One bad scenario - be driving along with 5-10 gals in cans in the back of your truck. You're driving along innocently and you get smashed by someone else. Can tips over and 2-3 gals spill on the road, highway patrol shows up. Asks why you're transporting fuel, you are helpful and say, "it's OK - it's just 100-low-lead". Lead?! OK - now HAZMAT gets called, and you get the bill.

Just don't have a wreck transporting your 100LL!

Why wouldn't it be?

Not being a chemist, I don't know. That's why I asked. I don't know whether the high lead content might cause a problem with the plastic, or if there might be other chemical differences between AVGAS and gasoline that I'm not aware of. Didn't seem like that unreasonable a question.

real hazards?

Phil,
I real a good article on the AOPA site...or was it linked here?
...anyway, a ton of good info on precautions when fueling in general, and especially with plastic jugs, proper grounding etc.
I always wonder if I should be adding fuel stabilizers, as it sits in my a/c tanks all winter???

Not being a chemist, I don't know. That's why I asked. I don't know whether the high lead content might cause a problem with the plastic, or if there might be other chemical differences between AVGAS and gasoline that I'm not aware of. Didn't seem like that unreasonable a question.

It's not all that different from the old leaded auto gas.
the plastic jugs will handle it fine.