DJR

For those who went to Oshkosh and looked at the new Led's from Aveo and Aero Led's , I was curious how the two compared and what your opinions were as far as what you liked or did not like. Which one would you recommend.

Thanks

LED's

:)I preferred the aeroled's. Seemed to be a lot easier installation. It was one of the things I had on my list to check out at Oshkosh. I will be installing them on my 7A.

Jay Erickson, RV-6A complete, RV-7A finishing kit N952J

Neither is as bright as regular strobe/nav lights, when I saw them in person on the flight line.

LED's

AEROLEDs weigh less than the Aveo leds even though Aveo reduced the weight from last years models. I am not shopping for lighting yet but both seem costly and I wonder if certified lighting might be cheaper. I have been flying Whelen and Aeroflash for 15 years and I only replaced one taillight bulb and that was a Grimes halogen...$60 though.

Dick DeCramer
RV6 N500DD flying
RV8 Fuselage
Northfield, MN

Great

I spent time at both booths. The aveo is awesome and their new spot/landing lights for the tips are just what i want, rocker starter button is tres cool too. Their prices are CRAZY high in my opinion. The total for two tip lights and full rudder, nav strobe etc for my 9a....$2600. HOLLY COW.
Great looking lights but...thats wacked if you ask me.

The aeroleds were great, personally not as cool a unit as the aveo, but maybe thats a good thing. In the daylight the spots were plenty bright to light up the ceiling of the hanger...I would like pireps from someone who installs and uses them before i dish out thousands. I love the leds, but until its actually on the market, in a box i can touch and buy, and others can report that they work well and the install was good...i will keep my powder dry. I think in the next year we will see some much better products and prices.

My choice is made.