Juicegoose

Well Known Member
Guys I do electrical design for a living which involves alot of Autocad, amoung other programs. Yesterday however i was invited to a little seminar that autodesk put on and they showcased Autodesk inventor. I was just wondering if any of you guys work with this program? Trying to get some feed back on it. As i immediatly noticed how usefull it could be in the building process

Autocad

My son started using the program about a year ago. Not very user friendly for us old guys trying to movie up but sure does some neat stuff. My son took some of my old drawings and had full animated Iso views done in a few hours (heatsinks and electronic enclosures).

Hope I can catch up!

Inventor

Guys I do electrical design for a living which involves alot of Autocad, amoung other programs. Yesterday however i was invited to a little seminar that autodesk put on and they showcased Autodesk inventor. I was just wondering if any of you guys work with this program? Trying to get some feed back on it. As i immediatly noticed how usefull it could be in the building process

I teach high school pre-engineering students Inventor. It is a powerful parametric modeling software as is Solid Works. You can make assemblies of multiple 3-D models to check for fitment, do FEA of models you create and some other neat things. One of the things my students do is create a model file in Inventor, import it into EdgeCam (a cadcam software) that converts it to NC code which is used to operate a CNC mill....and make the part the student created in Inventor. We don't get too complicated, but it's real-world stuff. By the way, there's a 7-axis robot that can communicate with the mill to place raw material in the mill and then remove it when the mill "tells" the robot that it's finished....continuous cycles if necessay.