albalone

I'm New Here
I'd like to hear about experiences with auto fuel in carbureted RVs. I'm in California and our auto fuel typically has 3 to 6% alcohol. I've been flying an O-200 powered Midget Mustang I built for 20 years. It's not an RV but it is metal and I hope you'll share your experience with me. I stuck a valve in my O-200 after a steady diet of 100LL, ran auto for years, then quit when the gasohol showed up. An RV friend said you guys have tons of experience with auto and to post here. What have you found out?

auto fuel info

do a search for auto fuel and read away. lots of stored info. i burn quite a bit myself. i saved a lot for my engine replacement funds.

Auto Fuel User

I have two airplanes with the same engine parts as your 0-200. I have a Cub with a C-90 and a C-170 with a C-145, both are run exclusively on auto gas. I do add 2 ounces of pure synthetic 2 cycle oil to each 5 gal as a top cyl lube and have been doing so for over 6 years and almost 800 hr. I test every load for alcohol. Why?

The rest of the story: I, accidentally picked up a batch of E10 and was running it in both engines. The 170 did fine. The Cub developed a habit that it would quit as I got up to about 200 feet off the runway. Not Fun! It took three times before I figured out the problem. After dismantling the carb. I found the the neoprene tipped needle valve had swollen slightly and was limiting the fuel flow to the bowl and could not support full power fuel requirements. A rebuild with a stainless steel needle valve solved the problem, but I still insist on no alcohol in my fuel.

Hope this helps
Tom

I have

200 hours on straight mogas and about 100 or so on Ethanol.

Fule injected with wingroot pumps and no mechanical pump.

So far no issues although E10 won't lean out quite as far running lean of peak as 100LL or straight mogas will.

Frank

6,000 hrs on Mogas