kritsher

Well Known Member
After completing the firewall forward wiring harness section (Section 45A) I applied power for the first time and absolutely nothing happened! (On the bright side, I don't think any of the magic smoke escaped.)

When I turn on the master switch, there is no LED indication on the switch and the cooling fans do not move.

There is about 13V at the battery side of the master relay and basically zero volts on the other two terminals. These values don't change when I flip the master switch off/on. I hear no clicking in the master relay. The red band on the diode is oriented correctly. I have a good ground from the battery to the airframe.

Do I have a bad master relay? A bad master switch? Is it safe to put a jumper across the master relay for trouble shooting purposes? Do I need to connect power to any wire besides P150 (which connects the battery positive terminal to the master relay)?

Any suggestions welcome.

Sounds like it...

No click and no voltage on the output side means bad solenoid to me!
A jumper is the same as the solenoid working so that is what I'd do. Pull the fuses on all but a few things if you want to be cautious.

Does the small terminal from your master relay go through the switch to ground? Try just a positive from the battery to the master relay. Ground cable connected, diode disconnected. Ground the small terminal and it should click closed. If not, your relay is bad or it has resistance to ground (bad mount).