Rick6a

Well Known Member
As a member of the AOPA for over two decades, I have always opted to include the optional legal services plan with my annual membership dues. In this time of economic downturn, I am reviewing all discretionary spending, including this item. From what I understand, the additional $29 provides 1/2 hour legal consultation in the event I find myself requiring the services of a lawyer presumably familiar with aviation issues.

I am a private pilot based inside a 30 mile Mode C ring and routinely operate under Class B airspace. Accidentally "busting" that airspace is never far from my mind. However in practice I operate out of uncontrolled airports approximately 80% of the time. Given my circumstances, I am curious how other pilots, particularly non-professional pilots percieve as real value this optional AOPA "benefit." Is the additional cost really worth it?

It is insurance.....

$29.00 times 20 years = $580.00. At this point you could afford more than 1/2 hour of a real good lawyers time.

Rick just behave yourself and save the money.:p

Kent

Rick, I'm not a lawyer, avaition or otherwise, but my impression of the way law is practiced is that lawyers are usually unable to give a yes or no answer to almost any inquiry. There are usually too many uncertainties about any given sitiuation and the lawyer naturally wants to avoid saying anything that might create liability for him later or create problems for you now. Save your money. I've never had a lawyer charge anything for the two or three times I've personally walked into their office and asked a question. If you really need help it's going to be a lot more than a half hour anyway.

I believe in it, and yes I had to use it. I guess the question should be, do I need any kind of insurance. You could save a bunch more money and not insure your airplane also.