jwilbur

Well Known Member
I'm a low time pilot (<100 hours). I'm about 2 - maybe 3 years from first flight in my 10. That gives me plenty of time to prepare. I know when it comes to getting insurance for my 10 more time is obviously going to be better. And obviously lots of time in an RV10 now would be best.

In the past month I've logged about 6.5 hours in an RV7A and hope to continue flying it periodically. Will that weigh more favorably to an insurance company than the same time logged in a C172?

What about getting an instrument rating? Would it be better to spend the same money and just fly more VFR hours and get the rating in my own airplane later? In other words, take the money that would have gone to an instructor and pay for 30% more rental time? Does an insurer count the rating for more than say an additional 30 hours of flying?

Thanks,

The more time you have the better, there was a thread on the RV10 forum regarding hour requirements. I want to say it was around 200 hours for the -10. So perform a search in that forum and it should come up. IRT the instrument rating, IMHO I believe it should be a requirement of every pilot, but that's just my opinion. The insurance companies obviously agree by the rate differentials that have been reported for the -10. I do realize that there are a large number of pilots who will never use the rating and will only fly on CAVU days. These planes are fast and great travel machines. Having the instrument rating opens up a lot of "marginal" weather days that might not be considered without the experience. Since you need more hours, you could use the money spent boring holes in the sky, to obtain an additional advanced rating.
The other thing you might do is to contact Jenny Estes at Nation Air in St. Louis. Pose your questions to her and proceed accordingly.