jim

Well Known Member
Hi guys,

I am about to upgrade to the fiberglass gearleg fairings and upper gearleg intersection fairings. I currently have metal in these areas on my 6. The lower intersection fairings are glass on the pressure recovery wheelpants. The options seem to be Vans gearleg fairings and the intersection fairings from fairings etc. vs team rocket fairings. My question is has anyone actually seen both before they were finished, or better yet, actually made both. I am looking for comparisons as to the quality of the glass as well as the fit. I like the looks of the fairings etc intersection fairings, but am concerned about the Vans gearleg fairings considering the complaints on the quality of glass from Vans. The rocket fairings seem to be priced ok, but only work with rocket intersection fairings according to their site. I am not sure whose lower fairings the builder used on this plane. I have zero glassing experience but can learn, however I don't want the plane down forever working on this either and the premade stuff seemed a faster approach to this.

Any input would be appreciated. Thanks in advance,

If I understand correctly, you've got pressure recovery wheel pants with the intersections glassed on to them. If all you're changing is the leg fairings, can't you just use the existing wheel pants and maybe a little cutting/glassing to make them fit the new leg fairings? This has got to be a whole lot easier and cheaper than starting from scratch.

Depending on how picky you are, you may or may not be happy with the premade fairings.
I used Fairings Etc. intersection fairings for both ends. For the wheel pants, the fit at the gear leg fairings was not that great and I ended up cutting them off at the pant and remaking them from that point. The fuselage int fairings were better, but I still ended up adding parts to them and they still need work to get a snug fit on the gear leg fairings.