I don't think it exists but does anyone know of an O-320 with angle valves? If you can get 180 HP with O-360 parallel valve and 200 HP with an angle valve engine of the same capacity, could you get 178 HP from an O-320? It's something that's been in the back of my mind now that I am close to needing an engine for my 6a.
Be gentle with me as it is my first time on the forums.

You'll probably be better off with a parallel valve O-360 in terms of both weight and width, even if you could get the angle-valve barrels made up.

I don't know for sure, but I think most of the weight difference between the O-320 and O-360 is in the longer stroke crankshaft and the longer cylinder barrels. The angle valve head must be a fair bit taller/wider/heavier than a parallel valve one, since it adds nearly an inch in width and 30lb in weight, not all of which weight might be in the head itself.

Perhaps you might consider ECi's O-340 which gives you the same width and presumably (nearly) weight as the O-320, but closer to 180hp (claimed).

A

I know of a 4 that had a Lycon built angle valve 320 in it. Used cylinders from a Lyc GO-480. It was one runnin engine. Don

I certainly think its ok to do, but economics are a consideration. Angle valve cylinders run about $1800/ea new, and you could probably get close to the same hp with high compression pistons and ECI cylinders, at half the cost. If you go for used/OHed angle valve cylinders, they are going for roughly the same as a new parallel valve cylinder.

Angle valves on a 6 ?

As I recall,to mount an angle valve in an RV6 modifications have to be made FWF. An RV 7 and 8 have been specifically designed for that engine. A parallel valve with a few H.P. upgrades will make you very happy.

Steve Barnes The builders Coach

I know what too much about this.... because I dream of building custom weird Lycs all the time.

O-290 and O-435 share the same displacement, -435 were Angle Valve (some at least)