f1rocket

Well Known Member
I have a question for anyone that has installed the Andair fuel valve that has the fittings for the fuel return line. Do you connect the fuel return line to the valve and the fuel valve sends the fuel to the opposite tank selected?

Or, do you have to run return lines from the valve to the tank to return the fuel? I hope it's not this way because that would seem extra complex. My hope is that the valve handles this internally.

Can someone shed some light? Thanks.

Randy,

I have only researched the Andair duplex valves while designing my fuel system, so I have no hands-on knowledge. With that in mind, my understanding is that this particular Andair valve is essentially 2-valves stacked on top of one another, one for the feed, the other for the return. This requires seperate return lines back to the tanks, and is intended to return fuel to the tank from which it was drawn. Andair recommends against returning fuel to a specific tank (or opposite tank) to prevent overfilling the tank and possibly venting fuel.

If I am wrong, someone please correct me.

andair duplex valve

RV7Factory is exactly correct. I have an Andair Duplex valve for my FI Subaru engine.

You will need to install return lines to each tank. Even if you've already built your tanks, it's not a super pain - quickbuilders do it all the time. Then you need to run the return line from the valve to the tank. It's not complex, just more work :rolleyes:

You wouldn't want fuel returned to the opposite tank - if you start out with full tanks that would cause all returned fuel to be vented overboard. The easiest system, operationally, is to return the fuel to the tank in use.

To what end?

Randy:

What are you using the return line for? This makes a big difference.