LimaDelta

I'm New Here
Couldn't find an intro thread so I thought here will do as it is an 8 I'm planning on building. Been toying with the idea of building for a few years now, and have finally taken the plunge - well, at least gone as far as kiting out the workshop and preparing to order the first few bits. Can't wait to get started. I considered a few other a/c, but always came back to Vans, and in particular the RV-8.

I've been lurking on here a while now, and digested several of the excellent build blogs, and think I am finally ready. I'm expecting a 5-7 year build realistically. I am an engineer (not a/c) by trade, but haven't much experience of Al. I think I should do ok, but want to take my time to get everything right.

Mission profile - well, in the UK kits are day VFR only, but I will build for night in the hope the rules change at some point. I have a rough plan for the panel, but five years is a long time, and am not going to firm up the order until much nearer the time. I reckon the 180hp fixed pitch option will work for me, possibly FI if the budget allows.

I am also considering the Showplanes fastback conversion, and going tail-wheel. Lots of other little ideas, but again for further down the line.

Anyway, that'll do for now. I'm sure I'll be picking a few brains on here as the build progresses. Donation paid and ready to go!

RV-8

Welcome:

The -8 is the best of the lot as far as I'm concerned. (Tail wheel of course!) 180hp carbureted fixed pitch is the common "bullet proof" configuration.

I ended up with a 200hp injected engine because I ran into a deal I couldn't turn down. I found a good used constant speed prop fresh from overhaul for not much more money than a new fixed pitched prop. Now I'm totally thrilled with that combination. I actually burn less fuel flying loose formation on trips than a friend with the same airplane and a 180hp carbed engine.