dwranda

Well Known Member
I just finished my phase 1 and now have about 45 hours in my 9A. I am a very low time pilot with about 125 hours total. In May I flew 22 hours which is the most I've ever flown in 1 month by far. I am feeling more comfortable in this amazing plane every time I go up. I would love to fly to Oshkosh this year, but I'm a bit nervous about the trip. I did meet someone with an RV8 at a pancake breakfast who kind of offered to join up with me to make the trip together. I've watched a bunch of the you tube videos on flying in and it seems with good weather and timing it right it may not be that daunting. In aviation I have learned to take advice from those with far more experience than I have so what are your thoughts? I am thinking of taking a longish trip(3 hours) in June to see how long travel and I get along.

I’d wait a while, until you have at least a couple hundred more hours and much more experience. We don’t want to watch yet another accident report on YouTube.

:eek:

Getting hours while completing your instrument rating is a fantastic idea…

Experience not plane

I would not worry about the new plane for the trip, but rather the low time of the pilot.
I would take up your friend’s offer. I think the inexperience will manifest itself in decision making, so an experience pilot to help with those decisions will be everything and make the trip a non issue.

Maybe you can get a friend who has flown an RV in to Airventure a few times to go with you in your airplane. In the mean time, get very comfortable maneuvering your airplane at 90 KIAS while maintaining an altitude. Also, get proficient at making spot landings.

Last edited:
You can do it! In fact you're probably in better shape currency wise than a significant percentage of pilots, first timers or not, that will be flying in. My advice, in no particular order: