I see wooden desk models on ebay all the time. Search 'RV-x model'. I've also seen the -7A R/C model and a few years back there was a -6A plans set in one of the R/C magazines.

Sweet...

With this RV8 model, I may have to return to the model RC business.

As a teenager in the late '50's, I was a real RC pilot with my stick balsa model and a single tube receiver (rudder only) and single tube transmitter, I spent most of my time rebuilding my craft after each (very) short flight. One pulse for right, two for left (escapement operation), if I remember right.

I saved my weekly pay ($1) for washing cars at my Dad's service statation, 10 weeks for each unit.

Final flight was glorious...launch, full pattern around the area, then loss of control with the model destroyed while wipeing out 2 cornstalks. At least it was at our small town airport where I later gave my old Dad a ride in a C140 after I got my private ticket while a senior at the University of Missouri...I sure wish I could give him a ride in my new RV8.

RV 8 RC

Do you think, If I get good at landing that RC plane in my back yard, I will be able to land the real thing here ????????hmmm. I bet my wife would have something to say about that. Maybe a no fly zone in the yard!!!!!! Although she has done a flyby in her Airbus 320... ok it wasn't under 3,000. but i did see the Jet.

Looks like a fathers day present to me!!!!!!! It will go good with my Great Planes RV 4
I have the 70 inch Great Planes RV4 with a .91 in it and love it. It flys like my real RV, and handles great at low speeds with flaps down. It doesn't roll like this RV8 in the video, its more like a real RV, a cork screw roll. Or maybe its my pilot.

Looks familiar indeed!

Love the paint job.....:D I'm sure Randy L does too....
Yeow, looks familiar.

DR-1_624.jpg