Jrskygod

Well Known Member
Patron
For some reason I just can't get Kevin Horton's spreadsheet to work. perhaps I don't have the correct program on my computer to run it or ????? Perhaps someone can help out and maybe educate me along the way.

From a test flight yesterday in nice calm air here is the data collected from my Skyview display:

Indicated altitude = 5500
Density altitude = 7525
OAT = 71 deg f
RPM = 2450
MP = 21.6

Hdg1 = 360
Ias1 = 151
Tas1 = 168
Gs 1 = 201

Hdg2 = 270
Ias2 = 151
Tas2 = 168
Gs 2 = 178

Hdg3 = 180
Ias3 = 151
Tas3 = 168
Gs 3 = 144

Hdg4 = 090
Ias4 = 151
Tas4 = 168
Gs 4 = 174

What I'm trying to determine is if I have an error in my indicated airspeed. Am I going about this the right way?

Last edited:
You're in a -9.

What engine and prop?

Most readers will be able to opine on with that. (I'm a noob and it looks cool to me so far)

Your calculated average ground speed is 174.25

Your stated TAS is 168 (you didn't say whether this is calculated on an E-6B or computed by an EFIS system) If the data is valid and your pitot/static system is working properly the TAS and average ground speed should be about the same.
If you calculated the TAS, it could be a calculation error. If it is what was displayed by an EFIS, I would say your airspeed reads about 6 low.

For accurate flight testing, upper level winds of 30 (kts or MPH?) is pretty strong.
Try again on another day when the air mass is stable and air is calm (early in the morning).