whifof100ll

Well Known Member
I had the same problem Chris Pratt and Paul Dye had others have with FAB and cowl interference described here
http://www.vansairforce.com/community/showthread.php?t=26129

I decided to remake the FAB top plate by starting with raw material. When removing the top plate, I found cracks in it just outside of all 4 bolt heads. If left unattended, the air box may have eventually fallen off the engine.

I am an engineer and I have also had several colleague with metallurgical experience inspect the cracks. We agree that the cracks are fatigue type cracks and we do not believe that they were caused by the interference. I have just over 200 hours on my RV-6. I made the plate from 6061 instead of 2024, which is what Van's provides.

Yesterday I visited a friend that has an RV-7 with about the same amount of time on it. Strangely enough he was making a new top plate because his original was cracked. He had also doubled his up near the induction opening. I think I like his approach better.

Generally, when cleaning the air filter I may not have looked closely at the top plate to check for cracks. I will now and I encourage others to do the same.

Do you have any pictures Dale? Please post some. I am finishing my FAB now and it would be great to see useful modifications. I am also making extra support attached to engine sump as Vern did.

100 hours

I built my original top plate from scratch to avoid interference with the cowl. 100 hour inspection this week revealed major cracks at all 4 bolts and no sign of contact with the cowl.

Andy

I wonder if the contact area might be at the FAB-to-lower-cowl carb opening as opposed to someplace further aft. I may also check for diminishing FAB clearances as the engine mounts age.

Steve

Pics

Do you have any pictures Dale? Please post some. I am finishing my FAB now and it would be great to see useful modifications. I am also making extra support attached to engine sump as Vern did.