WeezyRV12

Just uncrated my first kit , the tailcone. I have lots of woodworking experience but this is my first real time working with metals. I have been accumulating tools, building benches, etc. But could use some advise as to what kind of compressor would be ideal for the RV12 build. I am trying to save money where possible, but realize its not smart to buy the wrong product and later pay double to get it right, so if you have any good insights would really appreciate. Ideally I want to use normal wall current, and as quiet as possible as I am currently in a rental townhome. Seems like around $400 gets a roughly 30 gallon belt driven,oil unit at the larger retailers locally, around 5-6 cfm, is that enough to run the die grinder/ cut tools etc. I have a pancake oil free compressor for my nail guns but it is very noisy in a closed garage in the Chicago winter. Please share your knowledge/ experiences, Thanks. Weezy

For $427 you can't beat the 60 gallon Kobalt at Lowes. The only downsides to this unit are portability and the 220V requirement. I bought one a month ago and they took 10% off for it being a floor model (even though they all are floor units). I did plug it in to see how loud it is and volume was quite reasonable. I returned it as I got an excellent deal on a used industrial unit.

The lowes 110v ~30 gal unit for $400 also looks pretty good if 220v is out of the question. The Craftsman 1.8hp 25 gal horizontal tank is also quite popular: http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_12605_00919541000P I haven't seen any 110v units that do any better than 6 cfm @ 90 psi but that should be enough for building a -12

Keep in mind that many websites like sears.com and homedepot.com do have user reviews that can sometimes be very helpful.

Since you are in the chicago area you might want to look into this unit: http://chicago.craigslist.org/chc/tls/937086164.html In my research I found that it is identical to a "Puma" product and looked to be pretty good.