jtrollin

Well Known Member
I went to lay my ailerons down to start riveting the outside ribs in place and noticed that it has a twist to it, my right aileron is fine, just my left. It has a 1/4 inch rise from one side to the other.

Is there anyway to fix this? Should I worry about fixing this??

Here is a picture of the gap I have between the trailing edge and my table.
If I put weight on the trailing edge the opposite leading edge pops up the same amount.
IMG_0084.jpg

John,
I am not an expert and not familiar with 10 but how are you measuring/judging the twist? Do you see straight line at the trailing edge?
If yes then your aileron has no twist.

Could be twisted table?

Last edited:
it rocks..

The aileron rocks from corner to corner (like a chair with a short leg). My other aileron sits perfectly flush with no rocking at all.

John,
I am not an expert and not familiar with 10 but how are you measuring/judging the twist? Do you see straight line at the trailing edge?

Could be twisted table?

This is wrong, Vlad...

John,
.... Do you see straight line at the trailing edge?

Could be twisted table?

....because the trailing edge can be straight but the aileron can still be twisted...I've seen it.

Look at the aileron from the rear, or trailing edge. You should see an even amount of the thicker part toward the front, above and below the trailing edge. It seems that laying flat like you're doing is exposing a twisted aileron,

Best,

....because the trailing edge can be straight but the aileron can still be twisted...I've seen it.

Look at the aileron from the rear, or trailing edge. You should see an even amount of the thicker part toward the front, above and below the trailing edge. It seems that laying flat like you're doing is exposing a twisted aileron,

Best,

I agree with that. I implied " all other things" being equal :) (just trying to justify good marks given to me by geometry teacher in middle school:))