Theo G.

I'm New Here
I'm building the panel for my RV-6, and I'd like to put in the AFS 5600 and a Garmin 695.

I can see that the 5600 will be a tight fit. Has anyone else shoehorned a 5600 into an RV-6?

Can you share any thoughts as to why this EFIS or EFIS/GPS combo may be a good or bad idea?

I'm a rookie just trying to flesh out and validate my thoughts & ideas... Thanks in advance for your time.

EDIT: Okay it looks like the 5600 is not yet available, so that makes me a knuckehead for asking if anyone's put one in an RV-6. Still, if anyone has any AFS EFIS with a Garmin 695/696, I'd really like to hear about your experiences.

Last edited:
I'm too planing two AFS3400 and a Garmin 695 GPS

Hello Theo

I'm planing two AFS 3400 (one as EFIS and one as EMS) thogether with an Garmin 695 GPS.

I'm not yet in the situation where I can help or answering, maybe someone else have allready this setup.

The 695 is a 696 without the XM function (not working in europe)

Regards Dominik

Why not just go with two 4500's? They are the perfect size for the 6/7/8/9 series. My neighbor is putting a 5600 in his 7. The panel is done awaiting the screen. Prior to that, he had a Blue Mountain EFIS :(. I sat in it with this screen and it was like sitting in the front row at the movies. Too big, just my opinion.

The 5600 will fit but there isn't much extra room.

I thought I heard the 395/6, 495/6 and 695/6 had been discontinued. Could be wrong.

4500 & 696