Dean

I am going to run flexible fuel hose from the wing to the fuel selector. I searched the site and found reference to various fuel hoses. Do you have to use the Aeroquip SS 666 teflon fuel hose. The automoblie sites mentioned don't sell the Aeroquip hose but do have a teflon SS hose. Should I stick with the Aeroquip hose or can I substitute something else? I definitely want to use a teflon lined hose but want to make sure I get the correct one.
Also, the AN fittings on the automobile sites, are they all the correct 37 deg flare.

Thanks, Dean

Dean,
I've used Earl's Performance Speed-Flex/Speed-Seal steel jacket teflon hose and fittings in brake, oil, and fuel applications. Because it is quite stiff, I'd be cautious about short lengths of -6 connecting components with significant relative movement. I imagine it would be bulletproof connecting a wing root to a fuel selector; no movement. The fittings are not too hard to assemble.

I have no experience with their new Ultra-Flex product line. The website lists a whopper pressure rating (1180 psi), plenty of temperature range, and a tiny allowable bend radius (0.787" in -6!). Sounds interesting, but they require a fitting crimper so it would be tough to roll your own.

Something to consider. Over the past few days, I have looked into buying 2 end fittings for 666 hose and installing them myself on a fuel hose I cut in two. I changed my mind when I saw the price of those SS end fittings plus I would have had to buy a mandrel adding to the cost. Varga quoted me prices for two new fuel hose assemblies complete with firesleeve for not a whole lot more than the projected cost for doing it myself and they promised 24 hour turnaround too. Give em a call and get a quote. Certainly can't hurt.

http://www.vargaair.com/

Flex vs Al Tubing