Mr Charles

Well Known Member
Hey fellow 4 drivers! I have been posting a thread in the general discussion area...but probably should have been posting it here...
Anyway, I have a question regarding skin replacement vs repairing a couple of very small wrinkles...and would really appreciate everyone's opinion/comments regarding this...I suppose main issue is strength? Am I compromising the strength of the plane by repairing? I do some aerobatic flight and certainly am concerned with strength issues, but not sure the wrinkle fix isn't just a purely cosmetic issue?
Would really appreciate if some would read the other thread and reply...or is there a way to reference that thread here or have it relocated here? Sorry for the forum confusion...still learning all this posting stuff!!!
Mr Charles

Last edited:
Replies.

I am an RV4 Pilot/builder, I drive a Mitsubishi Pickup but thats by the by.

As for your wrinkles I doubt that you will get any advice based on what you have written here. You are asking for advice on a very vague description of the problem from which no one could make an accurate call.

Where are these wrinkles. (photos would really help). The other question would be what caused them, when did they appear. Wrinkles are often a sign of something being over stressed! If the wrinkles are in the wing skins you may have far bigger problems lying beneath the surface.

Post some more information and someone may be able to help.

When I was building my fuselage, I made a spar out of wood to go through the channel where the spar goes, and had legs on each end that raised the fuselage to a comfortable work height. The tail was supported from the tail wheel mount. Easy to make if you have a table saw and some 3/4" plywood, screws and about an hours worth of work. Solid and stable!
If a skin was wrinkled, I would just replace it. Make all the upgrades on mounts and gear now while it is all apart. Nice looking plane you have there... too bad about the oops.