boswell

I'm New Here
I'm a low time private pilot (about 250 hours) who used to fly 2-3 times a week until life circumstances took over back in 2000 and caused me to stop flying. I ready to get back into the cockpit, but this time I don't want to rent for a variety of reasons. So, I've been looking for something to buy with about a $100,000 budget. After carefully considering everything, a completed (I wouldn't trust anything that I built) RV seems like the plane that gives me everything I want. I'm very attracted to the performance (for short xc trips), price, and ability to get into light aerobatics (I'd love to get some instruction). I've never been in a RV but have always been very attracted to them.

It will mainly be used for local pleasure flying, some xc trips from Scottsdale, AZ to Vegas, SoCal, Denver, and Texas, and like I mentioned, I would love to get into some basic aerobatic flight.

Right now, I'm considering the 6A, 7A, and 9A. I would love to get some advice from the community about why one of those would be better for me than another and also what to look for in a completed RV. Logic tells me to look for one from a builder who is at least on his/her second RV (learned from the mistakes of the first).

Any advice for this first time plane/RV buyer would be very much appreciated.

Hard to go wrong

The RV's are great planes. I would definately hunt out someone in your area for a ride. Most RVers are happy to drag another poor sole into ther addition.

You'll have many choices at the 100k range. Other things to consider that influence price are avionics, engine and p&i. If you don't want IFR, you'll save a bundle. If you don't want max performance, you can save some on a FI engine w/ fixed pitch prop (can't say that this setup is not performant after flying piper/cessnas). Otherwise, find the best bang for the buck.