jeff beckley

Well Known Member
I am building a 7a and now have started to look for an engine. I have settled on a 0-360. Fixed pitch prop combo. I am new in the world of buying aircraft engines so bear with me.
Here is a deal I came across and I need to get some input.
A member of our flying club has a 0-360 A2F complete with accesories starter,mags,carb,60 amp alt,oil cooler. Also has a matching prop. This unit came off a 1968 Cardnal that was totaled in 1980. Log book is complete showing 1190hrs total time new. Oil changes every 25 hrs and no other repairs.
The engine has been pickeled for the last 25 years in a dry location.
The price he wants is $11000 for the engine and prop.
He has aggreed to allow my A&P to pull a jug or two to inspect for pitting and corrosion and then to dial out the crank.
I was advised that there may be an AD on the mags and I should plan on replacing the rings and laping the valves.
If anything looks bad with the cam or crank he will reduce the sales price the amount of the replacement parts.

The prop is usless to me as it is a McCauly efa 7656 and I dont think it will work on my 7A but he wants it to go with the engine.
Concidering the price is this a fair deal? what are my options for unloading the prop?

That sounds high for a mid-time engine that has been sitting for 25 years. If you look at it on a cost per hour basis, you'll probably find some of the new, but non-certified engines are less expensive. Beyond that, a new engine won't have dry seals, AD's that have not been complied with (i.e. the aluminum gear oil pump AD, the carb float AD, etc.), or other problems that can't be seen without doing an overhaul.

I agree with Kyle. After you spend 11K for that engine and useless prop, you could easily spend 7 or 8K to get it up to par. By then you could have purchased a good Lycosaurus clone that is new with a guarantee.

If you want to go used to save money, try to find a recently running engine that you can run to TBO.

JMHO