rnroutlaw1

I'm New Here
I am a newbie wanting to build the 7 because of its speed and aerobatic capabilities. I won't be doing heavy acrobatics, just the normal positive G stuff. I also want a stable instrument platform for cross country flights. Yeah, I know I want it all!

Question..... Can the control sensitivity be safely/easily "detuned" to some where between the 7 & 9's pitch and roll input characteristics?

Thanks!

rnroutlaw1 said:
I am a newbie wanting to build the 7 because of its speed and aerobatic capabilities. I won't be doing heavy acrobatics, just the normal positive G stuff. I also want a stable instrument platform for cross country flights. Yeah, I know I want it all!

Question..... Can the control sensitivity be safely/easily "detuned" to some where between the 7 & 9's pitch and roll input characteristics?

Thanks!
I think you'll find that it's not necessary or even desirable.

Most of the "tuning" is in pilot familiarity and training. Once you are used to the RV, you likely won't want to change anything.

Adding a simple wing leveler would do way more to ease the cross-country workload than changing the control setup.

Small changes in aileron and elevator trailing edge shape will have some effect on the control force required for small aileron or elevator deflections. I am told that a smaller radius will increase the amount of stick force required for small deflections. But I would expect that the amount of change in stick force would be fairly small, and the stick forces would almost certainly still be quite a bit lighter than on the RV-9.

A forward CG will tend to increase the stick forces in pitch, and reduce the aircraft response for a given stick movement.