SuperCubRick

I'm New Here
First post here on VAF - and I probably sound like a total noob with this question! :eek:

My dad currently has a '54 L-21B Super Cub - and as many of you may know you can open up the entire right side by lowering the lower half of the door and raising the other latching it up on the underside of the wing, also has sliding window on the left. He really likes that aspect of it, just flying around low and slow with the doors open, and it is pretty good stuff.

Anyways, he's thinking about selling it before it accumulates too many more hours towards the ol' TBO time. So I'm talking him into picking up an RV, preferrably an 8. His main concern is not being able to "open the window".

Has anyone ever added small windows to the sides of the RV-8 canopy - hinged, that would open down to the inside (I guess that'd be the best way to go if it were possible?).

Also, is it possible to fly with the canopy cracked open a bit? I've heard that it is not, but what if you were to make a way for the air to exit the rear of the canopy (holes or slits) to lower the pressure inside and keep the canopy from blowing off.

Thanks,

- Rick :)

SCR,

You can't make a door that folds down like on the Cub because the main longeron runs right under the canopy rail. That and the RV is so fast you might just rip any door off you can design in.

As for modifying the canopy, there are a few RV-3's and -4's flying w/o the canopy. They are convertable so they can put the canopy on for the winter months.

You might want to get him a ride in an -8 first and then see what he wants to do.

I wouldn't

I have a friend who once owned an RV-6A slider, into the canopy of which the original builder had inserted a small folding window similar to what you might see on a Cherokee. The associated doubler ring, hinge, latch, etc. were kind of funny looking, and spoiled the view out the left side of the canopy.