Stormer

Has anybody put an access panel on the glareshield of a RV6 or 7?
We are about to rivet on the top panel over the instruments and get ready for the windshield install, but....what if we need to, for example, pull out our EFIS instrument for maintenance or whatever. I think it would be virtually impossible to do that from underneath. It is jammed packed under there.
We were thinking of cutting out a section on the top and then have it fastened down with Zues fasteners or something similar.
Has this been done?
Thanks,
Steve
:D

I have two access plates aprox 11" x 8" directly in front of the windshield on my 9A. I am glad I did it but I had some water get in at the SnF tornado last year. I have since resealed the plates and have not had any issues. I have sealed the plates with Flamemaster tank sealant so I think it should be good for water infiltration now but I have no experience in the rain at this point to give first hand experience as to whether my seal job is working.

I am glad I did it as those two plates are the only way I have to get behind the subpanel where I have AHRS, VP power supply, ground block, backup batter, etc.

Keep in mind that several people have done this mod, but it is NOT approved by Van's Aircraft.

Mel,
Do you think the reason Van's hasn't approved this is concern for structural strength of the fuselage in this area?

I have not seen it done with Dzus fasteners. All of the access panels like you describe I've seen are done with screws, dimpled skin and nutplates.

YMMV, I am not an engineer, caveats apply, etc...

Personally, I would avoid this mod if I was building a slider. But, access to behind the panel was one reason for me getting the tip-up instead.

I have a RV-9A slider and I added the access panels. Even though I have 2 AFS 4500s that are tray mounted and easily removal to get behind the panel, these access panels allow quick access to the back of the avionics stack.