Tumper

Well Known Member
This is related to another post this morning but I thought it deserved its own thread.

A group of us were told last night by a VP of EAA that by Oshkosh 2014 there would be a policy shift at the FAA where someone would be able to fly with the builder during the Phase 1 period. He made it clear however this would not be an instructor and the extra person would have to pass a matrix of qualifications; time in type etc.

This is a great idea. Example; I am a low time pilot and don?t plan to fly the first flight in my RV-9. However I plan to make the second or third flight and as it stands today, my test pilot can only describe how she flies. It would be nice to have him in the plane with me. Sadly, I plan to be flying prior to Oshkosh 2014.

Second Pilot

Dean,
This is something I, as a member of the Homebuilt Aircraft Council at EAA, have been involved with. There has been considerable time and effort put in the details of making this happen. As you said, the plan is for a second pilot meeting a qualification matrix will be allowed. This is not a policy to just take a buddy but a pilot contributing to safety of flight.
I'm taken back by the projected date. I've not seen any real projections for completion of policy. Could you please send a private message with the name of the EAA VP. I'd like to follow up to find out if I have missed a communication.
The second pilot is going to be a true safety asset and I think it's great that the FAA is working with EAA to make it happen.

Ditto ...

Dean,
This is something I, as a member of the Homebuilt Aircraft Council at EAA, have been involved with. There has been considerable time and effort put in the details of making this happen. As you said, the plan is for a second pilot meeting a qualification matrix will be allowed. This is not a policy to just take a buddy but a pilot contributing to safety of flight.