tegwilym

I'm currently an unemployed computer tech and now full-time RV7A builder. I'm lucky since I have a girlfriend who has owned 3 airplanes in the past and this his her 4th plane - we are building this time! (How many guys can say that stay home all day building a plane for their girlfriend?) ;)
Anyway, I'm wondering if it's time for a career change since I've been searching for a job since April with zero luck. I've been doing computer desktop support for 15 years and think I hit the glass ceiling or most companies are getting too cheap to hire and only do short term contracts for low pay and no health benefits.
Anyway, I'm really enjoying this airplane building and have heard that time logged building can go toward an A&P license. Does anyone know how this works? If I could build a plane and get a license at the same time somehow that would be really cool. I'm not sure what the job situation is for aircraft work like this, but I'm really grasping for some kind of change. I'm pretty burned out on supporting Microsoft software problems anyway.

Ideas? Suggestions? Encouragement? :confused:

Tom
RV7A - Horizontal stab complete - starting vertical stab next!
http://www.mykitlog.com/tomtraci/
Renton, WA