Daniel S.

Well Known Member
Seriously, I Know this topic has been beaten to death by others, including myself. BUT... I'm really curious why no one has taken the bull by the horns & cloned the 10/14 nose gear setup (but scaled down for the 7/8/9). I'm no engineer but I'd think it would be simple enough to revese-engineer the engine mount & nose gear strut from the 10/14 & scale it down. What about the guys who make all the weldments for vans? On second thought, they probably have a sales agreement with vans... But there's a small fortune that could be made here. It's something I'd definately be willing to invest in and sell as an aftermarket option:D... Not every landing can be perfect every single time. Close but not all the time...

I know, I know there is the TW option & I do have my TW endorsement plus a ton of TW time... But all I want is beefy nose gear & not a total experiment like Mick's steerable nose strut, although that is VERY, VERY Cool by the way.

Just random thoughts & questions here

That, and the fact that it is not a faulty design, as thousands of airplanes have not gone over.

Unforgiving of lousy landings perhaps, or unseen gopher holes.

Best,

Or wet surfaces. Search about a 9A that went over sometime earlier this year. My recollection is that it flipped over after recent rains. Maybe there was a grading of the turf/grass/dirt strip and the problem occurred in that area.

Can't blame the nosegear for that.

Look at recent FAA accident reports and I see Cessna's that flip over after landing off airport.

But do not let that view keep someone from making a mod that they feel is of value to some folks.

How many 10s or 14s have landed on grass strips with gopher holes or really soft/mud strip to know that those will not go over?