alcladrv

Well Known Member
I've been flying my -7A for 4 years and kept it in a hangar until the the last 8 months. After moving to a new location in TN where hangars aren't available, I've kept it tied down on the ramp.

Today, I removed the seats and forward floor pans that cover the spars and sticks. Inside was puddled water between all of the ribs under the seats. After soaking it up and mopping it out, it amounted to over 32 ounces (1 quart) of water.

The bottom of the cabin is a continuous sheet of aluminum. The plans didn't specify any drain holes.

Anybody with a similar experience? Where did you drill drain holes?

No holes, sealed the outside.

The bottom of the cabin is a continuous sheet of aluminum. The plans didn't specify any drain holes.

Anybody with a similar experience? Where did you drill drain holes?

The water enters the area between the wing and the fuselage through the wing root fairings, then seeps under the fuselage side skins where the bottom skin meets the outside skin(s).

When I was finishing up my fuselage, another builder tipped me off to this. We laid a bead of sealant from the forward edge to the rear at the bottom of the fuselage side skins to prevent water from entering under the fuselage side skins.

It is also possible water enters around your canopy, especially if you have a slider. The only prevention is a cover. :(

YMMV

The water enters the area between the wing and the fuselage through the wing root fairings, then seeps under the fuselage side skins where the bottom skin meets the outside skin(s).

When I was finishing up my fuselage, another builder tipped me off to this. We laid a bead of sealant from the forward edge to the rear at the bottom of the fuselage side skins to prevent water from entering under the fuselage side skins.

It is also possible water enters around your canopy, especially if you have a slider. The only prevention is a cover. :(

YMMV