Bill Boyd

Well Known Member
I'm trying to wire in a 795 into my panel to replace a 296. To economize (hey, I'm a pilot) I thought I'd sacrifice the cigar lighter charging harness as my panel mount and keep the AC docking station wiring intact for home use.

The 296 is (or rather was) flawlessly providing NMEA 4800 baud data to my Trio ProPilot through its blue TX1 out wire and common ground, and everything has been operating normally.

During the install of the 795 today, I succeeded in splicing the ship's power and ground to the heavier red and black leads in the 795 harness, and it shows it's charging from bus power when the master is on.

Here's the puzzlement. The 795/796 manual lists the wire code for the bare wire harness in Appendix D page 145. I'm looking for a blue wire for TX1 out, or an orange wire for TX2 data out. I see in my hands orange, brown, yellow and purple wires, plus a shielded sub-bundle containing smaller red and black wires as well as a twisted pair of white and green wires. I have tried all four of the orange, purple, yellow and brown wires one at a time to the data in pin on the autopilot and none allow it to pick up any NMEA data. I have set the Interface to NMEA OUT on both ports, and tried normal and fast settings (Trio says this should not matter to the A/P), and I have an active flight plan loaded and a 3D GPS position fix while trying the above. All I get is "No GPS" from the A/P control head.

I'm suspecting the pins I need are not soldered to any wires in the cable(s) I have, or that the signal I need might be on the other shielded wires (but I highly doubt that and have not tried them). Can Garmin help me out here? Is the bare wire cable you sell my only option, or can you tell me what possibly vacant pin in the docking connector I need to solder a signal wire to?

Thanks!