Jimd

Well Known Member
I have a TMX O-360 with a 90 degree oil filter adapter. The filter on it is a Champion 48108-1. Should this dumb thing drain back into the case so I dont have to clean up a big mess every time I change oil? Is there another filter that will draing back better? Do I want it to hold oil all the time just so it is full at start-up?

If I punch a hole in the top will that help it drain?

I let it set for about an hour or so before I spun it off and I still got oil puking out of it, UUUGGGGhhhh...

Hi Jim,

There are a number of threads on this in the past...search for "oil filter mess" ;) (or something like that....or maybe "$#*&^@%")

The short answer from someone who has the same engine/oil filter is "no", the filter doesn't drain back into the case - there is a check valve of sorts that leaves oil in the filter. My solution is a strategically placed rag and gallon-sized zip-loc bag beneath the filter, but you can also build a long thin ramp to catch the oil and drain it off to the side of the engine. I find that the rag and bag, with a quick "flip" of the filter to the upright position, works ok. Not perect, but I have yet to spill more than a few drips, and have never bathed the accessory case in oil.

You can let it drain as long as you want - oil is staying in the filter - and poking a hole just drains all the oil out the bottom of the filter once you flip it (don't ask how I know...)

For all those about to reply that they have no problem with this....I am talking specifically about the angle adapter and the 48108-1...the straight adapter and -110 filter is different!

Paul

Yup you will

Thats why I changed mine to the straight back style and I can get an alu channel under the joint with almost no mess.

Mind you, I f I had realised how much work that was going to be I wouldn't have bothered.

You need to simply punh a hole in the top of the filter and then let it drain..Its the vacuum that holding it up in there.

Frank

Jim,