Juicegoose

Well Known Member
Aight guys I'm an electrical designer by profession. But on the side i dabble with 3D modeling software. Not the animation kind i'm talking Autodesk Inventor 2009 edition. For those that don't know what it does go to you tube and type in autodesk inventor. Basically its software used to generate 3D models of items for prototypes and such. The cool thing about the software is that you can run stress analyzes on a part you make and tell before the first cut on actual steal is ever made, fix the stress or weak point and then manufacture it from there. Now that the background is out of the way what i was thinking about doing was modeling an RV-8. Mainly because i plan on making mine a fastback and i want a slider but i don't want the frame in my view. So i'm going to design a canopy opening device like this http://www.diamondaircraft.com/aircraft/da20/gallery.php (look at the first picture under exterior). I was wondeing if any of you guys have modeled a part or your whole plane in any type of 3d modeling software. By using the preview plans i've got at the house i should be able to accuratly reproduce a rv to scale and then run the canopy mod through it's range of motion to see where i might be hitting and stressing to much.

good idea! I'd like to see 3D models for all the current RV's just for tinkering with... might be a good way to visualize paint jobs? Just being nosy here, but how'd you get into 3D modeling? Its always interested me...