auflauf

I'm New Here
Hello!
Actually, I am narrowing down the list of potential planes. Fuel consumption is a major concern as fuel prices are high here in Europe (e.g. Avgas 14$/usg, Mogas 98 oct 9,2$/usg).

For some xy-320, I found the fuel flow for 75% power setting being given to ~8.5gph. This equals to 118$/h for 100LL :(

Do you have any experience with lower power settings (55%, even lower)? Is it possible to fly a xy-320 with 6 gph or even 5,5 gph?

Thanks!
Alexander

Last edited:
Absolutely - just pull the throttle back for whatever fuel flow (and resulting speed) that you feel comfortable with. I can pull the power back on my O-360 to just what I need to stay airborne in the RV-8, and the fuel computer will show me with about an 11 hour endurance (or some silly number).

It's hard not to let an RV run though - but that's a pilot discipline issue...;)

Paul

Long term effects

I have some experience flying along with a Cessna 150. The very low engine temperatures made me wonder if doing this for a long period of time might have adverse effects.

I have never heard of anything bad, but as Paul says, it is kind of hard to make oneself do this for a long time.

On my RV4, O320 160hp, at 24sq which is about 75% and aggressively leaned I cruise around 7.5gph. I have the Electroair electronic ignition which made about a 1/2 gph difference in my fuel consumption for cruise flight after I installed it. I am able to run about 25deg LOP now with the EI and my fuel consumption drops to around 7gph and gives me around 150kts IAS at 5000'.

My O-320 150HP RV-6 cruises comfortably at 170mph and 25-27 L/hr. Conventional ignition (mags) and fuel metering (carb). That's at 2350RPM, roughly, but I don't know the MP as I only have a fixed pitch prop.

I have some experience flying along with a Cessna 150. The very low engine temperatures made me wonder if doing this for a long period of time might have adverse effects.