Lionclaw

Well Known Member
I wasn't planning on buying an engine anytime soon, but one popped up for what seems to be a good price and I bit.

It's a 320-h2ad recently removed from a 172N. The engine has 2200 hours on it and was last given a zero-time overhaul by lycoming in 96. I'll be picking it up sometime this weekend, so I don't have access to it quite yet.

The plan is to eventually disassemble it and send parts out for overhaul, and reassemble it myself, hopefully with help.

Being that I'm a total engine noob, I have lots and lots of questions, and I'm certain there are questions I don't even know to ask yet!

I did do some research before I purchased it. As far as I know, it has the following issues:
  • Requires a special h2ad d1 mount from Vans
  • The fuel pump will require a small bump/mod to the cowl
  • Possible cam issues requiring special oil or oil additive
  • Bendix dual mag setup

Anyone want to add anything?

Now my questions (more to come later):
  • I want to go with a lightspeed ignition setup and one mag. Do I leave the bendix or can i get a single slick mag or something else? P-Mag?
  • Where can I find manuals for parts/overhaul for the 76 series engines?
  • What exactly is the T-Mod? I see that ECI will perform it for $120.
  • If I plan to let the engine sit for a while, should I do anything to it?

I appreciate everyone's help! This stuff is all a bit overwhelming at this point.

H2AD

Andy, I'm about a year ahead of you. Including the H2AD part!

T-mod = lifters with larger diameter, more face area. If your serial number has a -76T at the end, the mod is already done. No roller lifter mod kits are available anymore, there was one out of Canada for a while but at $5000 it hurt.