nucleus

Well Known Member
I think the 200RV is the quietest and smoothest prop I have ever flown behind. My test pilot who has flown dozens of RVs says that it is his favorite ever. He feels it makes better thrust than the Hartzell.

When you hear other planes in the pattern you hear a lot of prop noise. With the Whirl Wind prop all you hear is the exhaust. It seems to waste less energy making noise than other props.

It also makes less noise transitioning through the air pockets too.

I haven't flown it long, but I really like this prop.

Hans

Useless me too reply.

I've been flying behind my 200RV for 2 months and about 45 hours. It's the only prop I've had on the plane, but it performs very well, and is very smooth and quiet. I'm really happy with the prop. These are of course qualitative comments and virtually useless.

FWIW, my RV-8A is faster than Van's published numbers and I still don't have the upper intersection fairings on the main gear.

Yep

You guys are finding out what others have known for a long time. Now, get it dynamically balanced and feel how smooth it is. I'm not surprised by the increased numbers in the 8.

For me in my 7, the sweet spot for speed and economy is 2450 RPM and 24". Or, at altitude, 2450 and WOT.

I'm also in the group by for my new project.

You guys are finding out what others have known for a long time. Now, get it dynamically balanced and feel how smooth it is. I'm not surprised by the increased numbers in the 8.

For me in my 7, the sweet spot for speed and economy is 2450 RPM and 24". Or, at altitude, 2450 and WOT.

I'm also in the group by for my new project.

Okay, I'll bite: What is your true airspeed at at what fuel burn at 2450/24?

Hans

Weight

Guys,

I know this is OT, but with the ww200RV being so much lighter, can I mount the battery forward in my -8 and save the weight of the long cables?

I'm a pretty big guy and saving weight this way is much easier than dieting! :D:D:D

Guys,