flyboy

I'm a newbie with lots of questions. I've had a slight interest in Vans for years. The quickbuild kits increased my interest. My flying experience is mostly in turboprops and light jets, no tailwheel time. Should I be considering just the 'A' versions or can you teach an old dog to fly a taildragger - safely - and affordably (insurance)?

This gets discussed pretty passionatly on both sides. The myth-busting truth is that the tailwheel RVs are real tame and no real trouble to T/O and land. Build what you want and you'll learn what you need to do.

No worries.

B,
D

Did I read that right, at the bottom of your reply? Was that $1550 paid on insurance for an RV6? That can't be for a year. is it?

flyboy said:
I'm a newbie with lots of questions. I've had a slight interest in Vans for years. The quickbuild kits increased my interest. My flying experience is mostly in turboprops and light jets, no tailwheel time. Should I be considering just the 'A' versions or can you teach an old dog to fly a taildragger - safely - and affordably (insurance)?

Once you get your tailwheel endorsement, you'll be left wondering "so what the heck's the big deal??".

Yes. Remember, I have 500+ hrs in type and I only insured it for 75K.
B,
D

flyboy said:
Did I read that right, at the bottom of your reply? Was that $1550 paid on insurance for an RV6? That can't be for a year. is it?

You think that's cheap?!

While I build my -7A I'm flying a '59 C172 that I made my first solo in, completed my PPL training, passed my checkride in, and have accumulated 700+ hours in. I have it insured for $30K hull, $1 M liability and when I renewed last June the bill was $628! (Yes, that's for an entire year.) I know the RV will be more; I just hope it isn't too painful. And yes, I plan on getting transition training.

--hawk
RV-7A (finishing)
N728E (reserved)

Funny, I just posted this over on the -9 forum:

N941WR said: