CATPart

Well Known Member
I am very interested in an RV4 that has this old engine. I called lycoming and the serial number is from a 1965 IO-320-B1A.

The logs start in 1996 at the SMOH time of zero. Then there is a 3 year gap (correction..7 year gap). Then it was run for 240 hrs in an RV6 when it was transplanted into an RV4 in 2010. At that time the fuel injection was removed and the sump changed. The latest owner added a pair of Pmags and has flown about 80 hours.

I am telling myself I should probably avoid this one, but I am not experienced enough to know if I am being silly. I don't know the story of the first 30 years of this engine's life. Still, it seems to have been thoroughly inspected and rebuilt to lycoming tolerances in 1996, so it should be good right?

I attached the log below. The images are in page order. The first 2 images are the top and then bottom half of page 1. On the second to last page I covered the N numbers of the aircraft. Neither have been in a reported incident (no noseover / no prop strike).

I figured this is the best place I can get some tallented opinions to help me decide.

Thanks! This should be fun!

Page-1-top.jpg

Page-1-bot.jpg

Page-2.jpg

Page-3.jpg

Page-4.jpg

Page-5.jpg

Page-6.jpg

Page-7.jpg

Last edited:
Bulk Strip

Ok, I'll bite. No one can tell you what to do here. Someone who flies over flat farmland, may not care if the engine quits. Someone who flies over trees or at night may have a totally different attitude. You?re obviously concerned enough to post the logs here for opinions so I will assume you are somewhat conservative.

The general problem with any second hand engine is you cannot know how it has been treated. That said engines can be inspected by people who know what they are doing and some of the unknown can be taken out of the equation. Even so the only real way to be 100% sure what you have is to tear it down and inspect it.