morganjp

Well Known Member
I was at a fly-in pancake breakfast yesterday talking about high gas prices with a RV-4 driver. He has a carburated O-320 and says he routinely flies with 100LL in one wing tank and mogas with ethanol in the other. He takes off and lands on 100LL and flies most of his flights on the tank with the mogas. Then as the plane sits between flights the seals etc are soaked in 100LL. He does not mix the 2 fuels. He says he has had no issues with doing this.

Any of you engine experts care to comment on this. Just curious as to the possibilities of doing any damage with this method of lowering flying costs.

John Morgan

No engine expert here, but I've been using a similar technique for 5 years and 900 hours; it's not exclusive mogas in one tank, but I'll add 5-10-15 gals of 91-93 oct mogas to one tank and top it with 100LL, so it's a mix, while the other tank is pure 100LL. No issues (yet) with almost 1000 gallons of ethanol mogas used. Of course I'd prefer to use non-ethanol stuff, but here in the Houston area, that ain't happening. Engine is a carbureted O-360-A1D.

Mogas E10

Lots of RVs fly this way.
Mogas in one tank and 100LL in the other.
Although I primarily use mogas for cruise, I continue testing for take off
performance on mogas. My goal is to take off and continue Vy climb on a day with 100F OAT and a heat soaked engine to verify my fuel system is vapor lock proof. All of my fuel system components are approved for ethanol except the mechanical fuel pump. This is why I let the aircraft sit in avgas between flights.
Most of my flying is within 2 hours of my home field and I use very little avgas and just keep filling the right tank with 91 octane mogas. Away from home it's
Avgas, because that's all there is available at airports.
The engine runs very well on mogas and probably cleaner and greener than leaded avgas.

I have not used 100ll (except for the odd cross country fillup) in over 400 hours.

i use premium mogas with ethanol.